1. Help Center
  2. Manage Processes and Workflows

Hailer user permissions

How to manage user access and visibility in your Hailer Workspace

(applicable after update 19th Dec )

Hailer user permissions are managed on a workflow or dataset level. The Workspace admin can set up the permissions in the workflow or dataset settings.  The permissions can be for an individual user or based on the teams. 

Manage user invitation and teams in the Workspace settings - Read the full article here

All workspace administrators and owners can view and do everything in the workspace. 

In case you would like to restrict the access to your admins to manage - create a separate Workflow admin team, assign the permissions for this team in the workflow settings, or assign the permissions for single users. Go to workflow/dataset settings > permissions, add the Workflow admin team or the wanted user, and give them admin rights.

Workflow/dataset settings:

workflow module settings

The default when creating new modules is that it is available for all users in the workspace.

Only admins or workflow admins have access to the settings. 

Click the menu icon and go to settings. 

In the settings, go to the Permissions tab to manage the access rights. 

You can choose to assign permissions on four different levels. 

dataset module settings

  1. Workflow admin - can view and do everything, edit activities, and workflow settings. 
  2. Any - user can view and modify all activities in the workflow and access all the phases. No access to the settings (default) 
  3. Own team - The user can view and modify all activities in the workflow created by the user or her/his team members in all the phases. No access to the settings (How to manage teams - go to settings manual)
  4. Own - user can view and modify activities which she/he has created—no access to the settings.

The permissions are additive, so the higher permissions are always the valid ones.

Phase/Category level permissions

Workspace or workflow admins can also set edit or view-only rights on a workflow phase level or dataset category level. These can be set for an individual user or a team.

To manage the phase permissions, go to workflow/dataset settings > Phases/Categories > choose the phase /category you need to manage and scroll to the bottom of the editor tab. 

Add rows to the Permission section and choose the correct option from the drop-down. 

The default is that all users who have access to the workflow have access to all phases. Use this functionality to limit access.

 

Here are a few examples, how to utilize the permissions in practice:

Example 1. To-do workflow where users have view and edit rights to the activities that have been created by themselves or by their team members. 

edit permissions - Own team

Example 2. 

Time tracker workflow where users can see and edit only their own activities. Also, Approved and Paid phases are read-only. 

edit permissions - Own

In the phases tab, scroll down to Permissions drop down, choose the correct team and add view-only permissions to Paid and Approved phases.

view only permission

Calendar permissions

By default, there are no permissions set in the calendar: All workspace members can view the calendar. Normal users can add, remove, and edit events.

To manage the calendar permissions, go to the calendar settings.

access hailer calendar settings

Calendar Admins can change the settings of a calendar, such as a Name, Description, Color, and Permission Settings.

calendar permissions